Day 1 of Boys' Interprovincial series complete



U18 Boys' Interprovincial Tournament


Leinster & Ulster in driving seat after Match Day 1 is complete


Friday, November 10, 2017


Ulster made the perfect start to the defense of their Interprovincial title when they overcame a spirited Connacht side in the AUL Complex this afternoon with Paul Browne’s men winning out 3-0 in a highly entertaining encounter.


Alan Murphy’s crew got off to a blistering start with just three minutes on the clock as Yeats College pupil Dónal Higgins rifled off a brilliant shot on target only to be denied by the athletic Carn talisman Daniel Houghton between the sticks.


Yeats team-mate Ronan Manning was the target man for much of the first half for Connacht but Ulster’s defensive back four remained vigilant against the impending threat


Ulster didn’t take long to settle in either with only six minutes played, they were on the attack. Liam Murray (Patrician HS, Carrickmacross) was gifted a one on one with the goalkeeper only for the youngster to pull the ball inches wide of the post. The Ballysadare netminder Lorcan Callaghan just doing enough to put his opponent off.


We didn’t have to wait long for the opener as Corrie Lee Bogan of St. Columba’s College netted on nine minutes after some great work down the flank from St. Eunan’s student Michael Gallagher


St. Eunan’s colleague James Carolan scuffed a chance to double Ulster’s lead on twenty minutes when he beat the off side trap beautifully but his attempt on goal was not so glamorous.


Browne’s men headed into the interval with the slenderest of leads.


As expected, Connacht were much better in the second period and their dominance showed when St. Joseph’s scholar Harry Rogers rattled the Ulster woodwork but saw his attempt smash off the crossbar on 45 minutes.     


The game opened up at this point with Ulster gaining the upper hand.  Deele College’s Ethan Coll scored a screamer from distance to make it 2-0 to the Northerners with 53 minutes played.


The contest was wrapped up two minutes from time as Stephen Doherty (Scoil Mhuire) converted to make it 3-0 to the defending Champions.


Leinster were also in the driving seat as match day one came to a close when they defeated 2012 Champions Munster, 4-0 in a fantastic showcase. 


It was a closely fought battle in the opening exchanges but the game came to live just before the break.


Cahir’s Cian Murphy forced an exceptional save from Moyle Park College keeper Kian Clarke who palmed the ball to safety on 33 minutes.


As the clock ticked down, the deadlock was broken two minutes into injury time as Templeogue’s Jack Ryan saw his 18 yarder smash the back of the Munster net to make it 1-0 at half time. 


The momentum was with Ian Ryan’s crew as they were awarded a penalty on 49 minutes when Grennan College’s Colm Whelan was taken down in the box. St. Kevin’s CC scholar Jack Walker converted confidently from the spot to double their lead.


The hat-trick of goals was completed for Leinster just before the hour mark when the skillful Chanel College star Ali Regbha slotted the ball past Roco’s Alan Kelleher.


Leinster’s fourth came right at the death when Balbriggan’s Lido Lotefa ensured the ball sailed into the back of the net with some classy footwork to deceive the Munster defence.


Leinster just nudge ahead of Ulster on goals scored but both provinces are relieved to get two points on the board following their comprehensive victories this evening. More importantly, both sides keep a clean sheet which will give some confidence to their defensive pairings 


A tougher test will face both sides tomorrow as the experienced Munster and Connacht set their sights on victory. They need to get some valuable points on the board in their penultimate outings. Both management staff have a wealth of experience and will be contemplating their tactics ahead of the afternoon fixtures.


Munster will have the pleasure of Ulster’s company when they kick off proceedings at 3pm while Leinster will take on Connacht in a must win for Murphy’s men when they face off at 4.30pm.


It should prove to be two tantalising ties as match day two kicks off in the AUL.




Leinster | Kian Clarke (Moyle Park College, Clondalkin), Cian Lee (Boyne Community School), Peter Adigun (Riversdale Community College), Padraig Finnerty (St. Patrick’s Classical School, Navan), Dylan Thornton (Cabinteely Community School), Sonny Conway & Jake Walker (St. Kevin’s CC, Clondalkin), Alex Kelly (Maynooth PPS),   Jack Ryan (Templeogue College),  Lido Lotafa (Balbriggan Community College), Kallum Broaders & Noel Heffernan (CBS Wexford), Michael O’Keane (Blackrock College), Colm Whelan (Grennan College, Thomastown), Ali Regbha (Chanel College, Coolock), Luke Ring (St. Joseph’s SS, Rush)


Management | Ian Ryan & Fintan Sheridan (St. Kevin’s CC, Clondalkin), Davey Cullen (Woodbrook College, Bray), Stephen O’Reilly (GK Coach), Ferdia McKeown (Physio)


Leinster 101117


Munster | Robert Osborne (St. Brendan’s College, Killarney), Mike Nzongong & Adam Conway (De La Salle College, Waterford), Cian Bargary (Cashel CS), Jack Larkin (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore), Cian Murphy (Coláiste Dún Iascaigh, Cahir) Darryl Walsh (St. Declan’s CC), Jack Forde (Glanmire CC), Shane O’Riordan (Midleton CBS), Beineoin O’Brien (St. Colman’s College, Fermoy), Douwe VanSindron & Brian Lynch (Presentation Brothers College, Cork), Dean Beresford (St. Augustine’s College, Dungarvan), Alan Kelliher, Colin O’Mahony & Rory Doyle  (St. Francis College, Rochestown),


Management | Derek O’Brien (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore), Daniel Murphy (Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig), Cathal Lordan (St. Francis College, Rochestown), Conor Coad (Coach), Darryl McGrath (Physio)


Munster 101117


Ulster |  Daniel Houghton & Fionn McClure (Carndonagh Community School), Corrie-Lee Bogan (St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar), Scott Prendergast, Seosamh Sheerin & Josh Hannon (Virginia College), Ethan Harkin (Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair), James Carolan, Michael Gallagher & Connor O’Reilly (St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny), Adam O’Connor (St. Clare’s College, Ballyjamesduff), Liam Murray (Patrician High School, Carrickmacross), Ethan Coll (Deele College, Raphoe), Stephen Doherty (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana), Mark McAteer (Mulroy College, Milford), Aaron Mulligan (Ballybay Community College)


Management | Paul Browne & David O’Herlihy (St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny)


Ulster 101117


Connacht | Lorcan Callaghan (St. Mary’s College, Ballysadare), Ryan Smith & Gearoid Mulligan (Summerhill College, Sligo), Liam Whyte (St. Gerald’s College, Castlebar), Hakeen Ryan, Harry Rogers, Colin Kelly & Cian Mulryan (St. Joseph’s College, Galway), Callum McElvery (Holy Rosary College, Mountbellow), Ronan Manning, Dónal Higgins & Adam Rooney (Yeats College, Galway), Aaron Perry & Liam Kerrigan (St. Attracta's CS, Tubbercurry), Niall Morohan (Carrick on Shannon Community School), Calym Crowe (Coláiste na Coiribe, Knocknacarra)


Management | Alan Murphy & Alex Lee (St. Joseph’s College, Galway), Kevin Murphy (Coach)


Connacht 101117




Friday, November 10

4.00pm Ulster 3-0 Connacht

5.30pm Leinster 4-0 Munster


Saturday, November 11

3.00pm Munster v Ulster

4.30pm Leinster v Connacht

Sunday, November 12

10.00am Connacht v Munster

11.30am Ulster v Leinster


Roll of Honour: Boys’ Interprovincial Tournament Winners







Ballybofey, Donegal



Ballybofey, Donegal



Ballybofey, Donegal



New Ross, Wexford



Salthill Devon, Galway





















AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin