Ulster & Connacht top the table after Match Day 1

Friday, November 9, 2018


A staggering 11 goals in two games kept the entertainment value high in a very wet and windy AUL Complex this evening as Ulster and Connacht both grinded out fantastic results against some really tough opposition.


The Ulster crew defeated Munster 3-1 in an action packed encounter to kick start their title ambitions. Paul Browne guided Ulster to Interprovincial glory in 2016 and the St. Eunan’s College mentor will be hoping for a repeat performance this season as he’s joined by Martin Cavanagh in the management setup. The duo both starred for Ulster at this level in the 80s and 90s and are no strangers to Schools football with Cavanagh securing a National Senior Boys title with Carndonagh Community School last year.


On paper, Ulster looked the more impressive however it was the Munster contingency that sparked to life with quarter of an hour played. Robert Geaney O’Brien was demonstrating his class and nearly saw his splendid effort dispatched successfully only for a last ditch effort on the goal-line by Loreto Milford scholar Ronan Boyce to deny the PBC student.


Indeed Boyce’s colleague Ronan Gallagher had a fantastic opportunity four minutes later to convert but he dragged the ball off target.


Again the danger man, Robert Geaney O’Brien and Oran Daly (Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh) were causing all sorts of problems for the Ulster defense but netminder Kyle Burns (Mulroy College) was equally as gifted to stop their pursuits.


With less than five minutes to the interval, Ulster were awarded a penalty when the lively Carndonagh talisman Corey McBride was impeded in the box. Daragh Ellison (St. Eunan’s College) duly delivered giving the Northerners a one goal cushion at the break.


Ulster doubled their lead five minutes into the restart as Corey McBride scored from a set-piece.


Seven minutes later, it was 2-1 as Hazelwood College pupil Brian Ahern poked the ball home inside a congested Ulster goalmouth.


Ronan Gallagher saw his initial strike smack off the woodwork but the rebound fell nicely to him to slot home a peach just before the hour mark to give the Ulster side some breathing space. Indeed this was the last of the goal fest as they saw out the match with some solid defending to take a valuable two point advantage into day two as the game ended 3-1.


Munster will be disappointed not to have gotten a draw from proceedings as they craved out some lovely passages of play and tested Burns numerous times but the difficult weather conditions hampered their exploits.


In a similar fashion with the Connacht and Leinster fixture, both teams served up some delightful football with a draw a likely result for much of the game.


Head Coach, Alan Murphy was without the services of goalkeeper Sam O’Gorman as he was ruled out due to injury. This saw the introduction of St. Gerald’s College keeper, James Robinson into the squad for the weekend’s adventures.


Leinster were first to make an impact ten minutes in, as Brandon Bermingham (St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda) lobbed the keeper from distance.


A penalty two minutes later saw Connacht equalise as St. Joseph’s College starlet Colin Kelly coolly converted.


Kelly was again on hand to add to his tally on the half hour mark to make to 2-1 at the break.


Their lead was short lived however as an OG from a Connacht defender saw Leinster square the tie, two apiece, with three minutes of the second period played.


They looked destined to share the spoils but with eight minutes remaining, Connacht popped up to score twice in quick succession. Their third goal coming from Charles Concannon and their fourth two minutes later with Yeats College stalwart Aidan Halloran getting in on the action.


Now 4-2 the Connacht lads thought they had it wrapped up but Leinster’s determination saw them grab their third courtesy of Brandon Bermingham three minutes from time.


It was a nervy ending to what was a very entertaining encounter but Alan Murphy’s men held on to see the contest out, 4-3.


Ulster will now face defending Champions Leinster in the opening game of match day two when they do battle at 3pm while Connacht will take on Munster at 4.30pm in what will be a must win for Derek O’Brien’s side.




ULSTER | Kyle Burns (Mulroy College, Milford), Jack Parke (Royal & Prior Comprehensive School, Raphoe), Daragh Ellison (St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny), Lee McLaughlin, Jack Doherty, Corey McBride, Mikey Friel (Carndonagh Community School), Stephen Black, Conor Black, Ronan Gallagher, Ronan Boyce (Loreto Community School, Milford), Seán McEvoy, Aaron McCabe (Virginia College, Cavan), Oisin Cannon (PCC Falcarragh), Jamie Doherty, Patrick Ferry (Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair)


Management | Paul Browne (St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny), Martin Cavanagh (Carndonagh Community School)


MUNSTER | Ben Kirwan (St. Declan’s Community College), Chris O’Reilly (Douglas Community School), Sam Dwyer (CBS High School, Clonmel), Jake O’Brien (Pobailscoil na Tríonóide, Youghal), Niall O’Keefe, Cameron Power (De La Salle College, Waterford), Oran Daly (Colaiste an Spioraid Naoimh), John Hayes (Scoil Mhuire agus Idé, Newcastle West), Conor Butler (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore), Robert Geaney O’Brien (Presentation Brothers College, Cork), Brian Ahern (Hazelwood College), Mikey Foley (Coláiste Mhuire, Cobh), Matty O’Reilly (Midleton CBS), Killian O’Brien (Schull Community College), Luke Desmond (Kinsale Community School), Callan Scully (St. Joseph’s CBS, Nenagh)


Management | Derek O’Brien (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore), Cathal Lordan (St. Francis College, Rochestown), Conor Coad (Coach), Seamus McWalter (Physio)


LEINSTER | Jamie Cleary (Driminagh Castle CBS, Walkinstown), Harry McEvoy (St. Benildus College, Stillorgan), Kevin O’Reilly, Conor Behan (Moyle Park College, Clondalkin), Keith Carter (Coláiste Choilm, Swords), Jamin Nwanze (Rockbrook Park School, Rathfarnham), Denis Smith (Belvedere College), James Clarke (Boyne Community School, Trim), Brandon Bermingham (St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda), Jack Moylan (St. Fintan’s High School, Sutton), Byron O’Gorman (Clonkeen College, Blackrock), Alex Aspil (The High School, Rathgar), Ross Tierney (St. Aidan’s CBS, Whitehall), Jake Ellis (Oatlands College, Mount Merrion), Jack Savage (Old Bawn Community School, Tallaght), David Odumosu (O’Fiaich College, Dundalk)


Management | Ian Ryan (St. Mac Dara’s CC, Templeogue), Fintan Sheridan (St. Kevin’s Community College, Clondalkin), Davey Cullen (Woodbrook College, Bray), Stephen O’Reilly (GK Coach), Jordan Keogh (Video Analyst), Ferdia McKeon (Physio)


CONNACHT | James Robinson (St. Gerald’s College, Castlebar) Iarlaith O’Sullivan, Charlie Concannon & Colin Kelly (St. Joseph’s College, Galway), Gearoid Mulligan, Bryan Lynch & Adam Lynch (Summerhill College, Sligo), Mark Melody (Coláiste Bhaile Chlair, Galway), Adam Farrell (Colaiste Mhuire, Ballygar), Jack O’Connor (St. Louis Community School, Kitimagh), Oisin Duffy & Jordan Carr (Garbally College, Galway), Dónal Higgins, Aidan Halloran (Yeats College, Galway), Liam Corcoran (Calasanctius College, Oranmore), Patrick Martyn (Presentation College, Athenry)


Management | Alan Murphy & Alex Lee (St. Joseph’s College, Galway), Kevin Murphy (Coach), Keith McTigue (Coach)



35 mins per half. No extra time. 10 min h/t interval

Friday, November 9

4.00pm Munster 1-3 Ulster

5.30pm Connacht 4-3 Leinster

Saturday, November 10

3.00pm Ulster vs Leinster

4.30pm Connacht vs Munster

Sunday, November 11

10.00am Fixtures TBC

11.30am Fixtures TBC


Roll of Honour: Boys’ Interprovincial Tournament Winners







Ballybofey, Donegal



Ballybofey, Donegal



Ballybofey, Donegal



New Ross, Wexford



Salthill Devon, Galway





















AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin



AUL Complex, Dublin