All to play for after Match Day Two

FAI Schools Under 18 Boys’ Interprovincial Tournament


Saturday, December 9, 2023


Connacht 2-0 Leinster                   Munster 2-1 Ulster             

Kyle Fitzgerald (28, 64)                                                                                    Evan Lynch (16, 18)  Nathan McDaid (64)  


After an opening day defeat, Connacht bounded back to claim the points on offer against Leinster in difficult windy weather conditions on Match Day Two at the AUL Complex this afternoon reports Paddy McDaid. 


There was little between the teams in the early stages with Leinster having the majority of the possession with Aaron Moloney (Gaelcholáiste Reachrann) pulling the strings in midfield. 


With 23 minutes on the clock, Billy Regan's (St. Joseph’s Patrician College, Galway) header was well saved by Noah Douglas (Coláiste Ráithín, Bray)


However, the opening goal soon arrived when DonnachaSammon (Presentation College, Athenry) played it out wide to Kyle FITZGERALD (Coláiste Bhaile Chláir) and he turned inside before striking home of the inside of the near post to give Connacht a deserved lead.


Leinster almost drew level in the 63rd  minute when Caleb O’Neill (Piper’s Hill College, Naas) headed just over the bar after a great delivery to the near post from a corner. 


Connacht grabbed the all important insurance goal in the 64th minute with a great team effort after Daire Patton’s (Summerhill College} surging run up the right side released Conor Cannon (Rice College, Westport) before his through ball was drilled home by Player of the Match Kyle FITZGERALD (Coláiste Bhaile Chláir) for his second of the afternoon.


The second outing of the day saw overnight leaders Ulster suffer a 2-1 defeat to Munster who are now tournament leaders going into the final series of games tomorrow morning.


The wind picked up even more than the earlier game and this unfortunately made it very difficult for both teams.


Ulster had a very strong penalty shout in the opening minute when Shaunie Bradley (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana) appeared to be impeded in the box but the referee waved play on.


Munster took the lead in the 16th minute when Evan LYNCH (Christian Brothers College, Cork) finished from the edge of the box after a good team move with Matthew Kiernan (St. Francis College, Rochestown) assisting.


Two minutes later, Player of the Match, Evan LYNCH(Christian Brothers College, Cork) scored his second after disposing Ulster’s centre back and finishing neatly. 


Daragh Coyle (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana) headed off his line after a corner just before the interval to keep Ulster’s hopes alive.


Again the strong wind made it difficult for both teams to play great football but Ulster showed enormous character to get back in the game over the hour mark when Nathan McDaid (Carndonagh Community School) latched onto Oisin Cooney’s (Carndonagh Community School) long delivery before lifting the ball over the advancing Rory Moloney (Presentation Brothers College, Cork) in the Munster net.


Munster held on for the win and are now on three points while Ulster remain on two points.  Connacht are on two points with Leinster on one.


The finale will see Leinster take on Ulster at 10.30am while Munster play Connacht at 11.30am for the ultimate title.


The performances this weekend have been top notch despite the terrible playing conditions so it will be interesting to see who progresses to clinch the title.




CONNACHT | James MURPHY (Calasanctius College, Oranmore),  Conor REYNOLDS, Conor CANNON (Rice College, Westport), Billy REGAN, Tommy LILLIS, Charlie COX (St. Joseph’s Patrician College, Galway), Junior THIAM (Coláiste Éinde, Salthill), Callum LYNCH, Daire PATTON (Summerhill College, Sligo),  Dara KAVANAGH, Kyle FITZGERALD (Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Co na Gaillimhe), Evan MORAN, Donnacha SAMMON, Eoin HANNON (Presentation College, Athenry), Rory WALSH, Ciaran NOLAN (Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew), Kyle McDONAGH (St. Attracta’s Community School, Tubbercurry)


Management | Alan Murphy, Alex Lee (St. Joseph’s College, Galway), Keith McTigue (Coach)


LEINSTER | Shane TRACEY (St. Mary’s College, Dundalk), Tom McLOUGHLIN (Malahide Community School), Aidan RUSSELL VARGAS (Lusk Community College) Filip WASILEWSKI (Wexford CBS), Sean MACKEY (Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip), Kyle DONOHUE (Kildare Town Community School), Callum TRAVERS DOYLE (St. Fintan’s High School), Caleb O’NEILL (Piper’s Hill College, Naas), Alain KIZENGA (St. Mac Dara’s Community College), Mark ISONG, Hugh SMITH (Belvedere College), Aaron MOLONEY (Gaelcholáiste Reachrann), Markus STRODS (St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Rush), Seán KEOGH (Skerries Community College), Andy PARASCHIV (Ardgillan Community College), Noah DOUGLAS (Coláiste Ráithín, Bray), Edwinas JAKAS (Lucan Community College)


Management | Ian Ryan, Conor Canavan (St. Mac Dara’s Community College, Templeogue), Fintan Sheridan (St. Kevin’s Community College, Clondalkin), John Power (Physio)


MUNSTER | Rhys KELLY NOONAN (Coláiste Muire, Crosshaven), Patryk SWIECZKA-ANDRZEJCZAK, Luke DOWNEY (Glanmire Community College), Matthew KIERNAN, Matthew MURRAY, Dara McCORMICK, Noah SOWINSKI (St. Francis College, Rochestown), Michael DIKE (Thomond Community College), Robbie LYNCH (Hazelwood College, Limerick), Aaron CASS (Abbey Community College, Waterford), Callum HONOHAN (Edmund Rice College, Carrigaline), Callum COSTELLO (Comeragh College, Carrick on Suir), Evan LYNCH (Christian Brothers College, Cork), Zak O’SULLIVAN (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore), Evan GEARY (St. Colman’s College, Fermoy), Seán RICHMOND (Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig), Rory MOLONEY (Presentation Brothers College, Cork)


Management | Billy Woods (Glanmire Community College),  Brian Nolan (Mount Sion CBS, Waterford), Kevin Condon (Coláiste Dun Íascaigh, Cahir),  David Browne (Physio)


ULSTER | Thomas BRADY (Largy College, Clones), Shaunie BRADLEY, Darragh COYLE (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana), James McATEER (Loreto Community School, Milford), Kevin MULDOON (Abbey Vocational School, Donegal Town), Adam McDAID, Luca BARRETT, Jack KEYS (St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny), Liam CARLIN (St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar), Conall ALFRED (Coláiste Oiriall, Muineachán), Oisin COONEY, Nathan McDAID, Tierna RUDDY, Brendan McLAUGHLIN (Carndonagh Community School), Seaghan McCORMICK (Gairmscoil Chú Uladh), Conor McGRANAGHAN (Deele College, Raphoe), Luke MULLIGAN (Ballybay Community College)


Management | Oisín McMenamin (St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar), Gary McHugh (Royal School, Cavan), Alan Boal (Royal & Prior Comprehensive School, Raphoe)






Friday, December 8

Ulster 2-0 Connacht         POTM | James McAteer, Loreto CS, Milford

Munster 2-2 Leinster        POTM | Markus Strod, St. Joseph’s SS, Rush


Saturday, December 9

Leinster 0-2 Connacht    POTM | Kyle Fitzgerald(Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Co na Gaillimhe)

Munster 2-1 Ulster            POTM | Evan Lynch (Christian Brothers College, Cork) 




Sunday, December 10

10.30am Leinster vs Ulster            

11.30am Munster vs Connacht