EA Sports FAI Schools 5 A Side Munster Finals


      EA Sports FAI Schools 5-a-side

Mixed Fortunes in Munster  

A record 29 schools from Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford participated in the Munster Provincial Finals which were held in the impressive Park Rangers Football Club in Shannon, Co: Clare on Wednesday:

There were mixed fortunes for schools competing for top spot in the Munster Finals: Three counties were victories in the 5 sections thus ensuring that Cork, Kerry and Limerick will be flying the flags for Munster in this year’s EA Sports FAI Schools 5 A Side National Finals:

Broadford National School (NS) in Limerick won the “A” Schools title while St: Mary’s NS in Carrigaline, Cork secured the Girls “A” Schools title:

Scoil Iognaid Ris An Daingean were successful in the “B” Schools Section after a tense semi final which saw them beat Corpus Christi NS, Limerick with a golden goal:

Bruff NS, Limerick won the coveted Girls “B” Section after traumatic scenes when the match had to be decided on sudden death penalties much to the disappointment of runners up Convent Primary School in Listowel:

St: Anthony’s NS Ballinlough captured the “C” Schools Section title after winning all 4 games in their group stages:


The winners progress to the National Finals which will be taking place in the impressive Leah Victoria Park, Tullamore on May 28th:

It promises to be a fantastic fun filled day with a “Player of the Tournament” accolade for each section, goodies bags and medals for all participants:

EA Sports will be on hand to entertain spectators with HD Lounges and PODs for that interactive gaming enthusiast:


“A” Schools:



Group 1:

Lahinch NS, Clare

Togher NS, Dunmanway, Cork

Scoil Mhuire & Naomh Treasa, Currow, Kerry

Group 2:

Broadford NS, Limerick

Templederry NS, Tipperary

Dunhill NS, Waterford




Group Stages

Togher NS 4 – 2 Dunhill NS

Dunhill NS 1 – 3 Broadford NS

Broadford NS 5 – 0 Togher

Lahinch NS 3 – 2 Templederry NS

Templederry NS 2 – 5 Scoil Mhuire & Naomh Treasa

Currow 1 – 2 Lahinch NS


Semi Finals

Broadford 7 – 0 Currow

Lahinch 1 – 2 Togher



Broadford NS 2 – 0 Togher NS


Winners:         Broadford NS, Limerick

Runner Up:    Togher NS 


“A” Girls Schools:



Group 1:

Quilty NS, Clare

St: Mary’s NS, Carrigaline, Cork

Ballyduff NS, Kerry

Group 2:

Killinure NS, Limerick

Gaelscoil Bhride, Thurles, Tipperary

Bunscoil Gleann, Cappoquin, Waterford



Group Stages

St: Mary’s 1 – 0 Bunscoil Gleann Sidheain

Bunscoil Gleann Sidheain 1 – 3 Killinure NS

Killinure NS 2 – 0 St: Mary’s NS

Quilty NS 2 – 3 Gaelscoil Bhride

Gaelscoil Bhride 1 – 1 Ballyduff NS

Ballyduff NS 4 – 1 Quilty NS


Semi Finals

St: Mary’s NS 2 – 0 Gaelscoil Bhride

Ballyduff 5 – 2 Killinure



St: Mary’s 4 – 2 Ballyduff NS


Winners:         St: Mary’s NS Carrigaline, Cork

Runner Up:    Ballyduff NS, Kerry


“B” Schools:


Group 1:

Newmarket On Fergus NS, Clare

Laragh NS, Bandon, Cork

Scoil Iognaoid Ris An Daingean, Kerry

Group 2:

Corpus Christi NS, Limerick

Moycarky, Pouldine, Tipperary

Killea BNS, Dunmore East, Waterford



Group Stages

Laragh NS 6 – 0 Killea BNS

Killea BNS 0 – 4 Corpus Christi NS

Corpus Christi 1 – 1 Laragh NS

Newmarket 0 – 1 Moycarky NS

Moycarky NS 1 – 5 Scoil Iognaid

Scoil Iognaid 9 – 0 Newmarket


Semi Finals

Laragh NS 6 – 1 Moycarky NS

Scoil Iognaid 2 – 2 Corpus Christi NS

Scoil Iognaid won on “golden goal”



Scoil Iognaid 4 – 2 Laragh NS


Winners:         Scoil Ris An Daingean Co: Chiarrai

Runner Up:    Laragh NS, Bandon, Co: Cork


Girls “B” Schools:




Group 1:

Ennis NS, Ennis, Clare

Whitechurch NS, Cork

Convent Primary School, Listowel, Co: Kerry

Group 2:

Bruff NS, Limerick

St: Mary’s Convent NS, Nenagh, Co: Tipperary

Piltown NS, Kilkenny - Waterford




Group Stages

Whitechurch NS 1 – 2 Piltown NS

Piltown 0 – 1 Bruff NS

Bruff NS 1 – 0 Whitechurch NS

Ennis NS 3 – 3 St: Mary’s

St: Mary’s 2 – 3 Convent Primary

Convent Primary 5 – 1 Ennis NS


Semi Finals

Bruff NS 5 – 2 St: Mary’s

Convent Primary 0 – 0 Piltown

Convent Primary won 1 – 0 on penalties




Bruff NS 0 – 0 Convent Primary

Bruff won on sudden death penalties


Winners:         Bruff NS, Co: Limerick

Runner Up:    Convent Primary School, Listowel, Kerry


 “C” Schools:




Ennis NS, Clare

St: Anthony’s NS, Cork

Holy Family NS, Kerry

Monaleen NS, Limerick

St: Stephen’s BNS, Waterford




St: Anthony’s NS 4 – 0 Ennis NS

St: Stephen’s BNS 8 – 1 Monaleen NS

St: Anthony’s NS 7 – 1 St: Stephen;s BNS

Ennis NS 3 – 4 Holy Family NS

Holy Family 1 – 3 St: Anthony’s NS

Monaleen 5 – 2 Ennis NS

Monaleen NS 1 – 4 St: Anthony’s NS

Holy Family NS 1 – 3 St: Stephen’s NS

Monaleen NS 5 – 4 Holy Family NS

Ennis NS 4 – 4 St: Stephen’s BNS


Winners:         St: Anthony’s NS, Cork

Runner Up:    St: Stephen’s NS, Waterford