5 Star Patrician Academy, Mallow clinch the FAI Schools U16 Cork Tim Kelly Cup

U16 Cork FAI Schools Tim Kelly Cup Match Report

Patrician Academy, Mallow v Davis College, Mallow

Date: Tuesday, 08/05/23

Kick Off: 12:00

Venue: Banteer Sports Complex


Patrician Academy, Mallow triumphed in the Cork Under 16 FAI Schools Tim Kelly Cup against fellow Mallow school Davis College, Mallow; with a 5 – 0 win.The goalscoring heroes for Patrician Academy, Mallow were Dylan O’ Connell, Denzel Obenge (2), Ryan Crowley and Cormac Cooney. This is the first time Patrician Academy, Mallow has ever won the soccer Cork Cup at the under 16 age group.

On a warm May afternoon at the magnificent Benteer Sports Complex, two Mallow school sides and first time finalists at the under 16 age group contested the U16 Cork FAI Schools Tim Kelly Cup. The game started in a nervy and tense fashion with neither side willing to give an inch in this local derby contest. Neither side mustered a chance of note in the first 20 minutes with the game bogged down in a midfield battle. However, Patrician Academy then broke the deadlock when a through ball by Captain John Downey was knocked across the box by Aaron Murphy and Dylan O’ Connell cooly slotted home, much to the delight of the schools travelling supporters. Five minutes later, it was 2 – 0 to Patrician Academy. The superb Denzel Obenge went on a mazy run and unleashed a thunderous shot from the edge of the box which arrowed into the top corner. Davis College, Mallow then had a chance but Peter Ayodele could not apply a finish after good intial work in the box to create the opportunity. Patrician Adademy then took control of the game and added a third goal. Good work from Jamie McAuliffe down the left wing saw him beat two Davis defenders and cross to the back past, where obenge was gleefully waiting to tap home his second of the game and Patrician’s third. The half time whistle then blew. The game was 3 – 0 at half time to Patrician Academy. 


After the break, Davis College, Mallow came out fighting with renewed vigour in an attempt to get back into the game. Ramadin Hadi has a couple of half chances closed down well by the excellent Patrician Academy defence. As Davis College pushed foward in search of a goal, they were caught on the counter attack and Patrician Academy made it 4 – 0. Abraham Erhabor played in Ryan Crowley, who slotted home into the bottom corner, with a well taken finish. Patrician Academy then added a fifth goal. Stephen O’ Donovan’s cross found Cormac Cooney at the back post, who tapped the ball into the net. Davis College continued to fight on, never gave up and nearly got a consolation goal when Shay McCarthy’s shot sailed narrowly over the crossbar. The game ended 5 – 0 to Patrician Academy, Mallow. As the cup was presented to Patrician Academy, Mallow captain John Downey by FAI Schools Chairman Aiden Twomey, their supporters, players and coaches erupted in jubilant celebration.


Winning manager Stuart Borthwick stated that he was “delighted with the victory and the efforts shown by his players throughout the campaign”. Opposing manager Conor Cremin praised Patrican Academy on their win and his own players efforts “who kept going”.


Well done to both teams on reaching the u16 Cork Cup final for the first time. The game was played in good spirits, with great football on display. Congratulations to Patrician Academy, Mallow on winning the FAI Schools U16 Cork Tim Kelly Soccer Cup and commiserations to first time finalists Davis College, Mallow. 


Patrician Academy, Mallow Squad:

Jason Doody, John Downey, Gallilo Erhabor, Ronan Luddy, Jamie McCauliffe,

Dylan O'Connell, Louie Power, Cian Cooney, Cormac Cooney, Eoin Howell,

Aaron Murphy, Denzell Obenge, Abraham Erhanbor, Matthew Scanlon, Stephen ODonovan,

Ryan Crowley, Ethan Barry, Jack Quill, James O'Mahony, Niall Lysaght, Caleb Crone,

Colm Wallace, Conor O’ Mullane.

Management Team: Stuart Borthwick and Conor Stokes


Davis College, Mallow Squad:

James Quinn, Eliezer Amundala, Aaron O’Flynn ©, Paul Ayodele, Scott McCabe,

Daniel Moloney, Nathanael Mthembu, Blake Wyse, Peter Ayodele, Alex Uwumarogie,

Ramadan Hadi, Shay McCarthy, Kieran Issak, Kevin Issak, Christian Amundala,

Berkley Arrey, Keagan O’Sullivan, Patrick Pelechazc, Aaron Power.

Management Team:  Conor Cremin and Denis Quinlan