FAI Schools Girls’ International squad for tournament in Wales

FAI Schools Girls’ International squad for tournament in Wales
Date: Tuesday, 10 April 2007 Section: Schools Internationals
FAI Schools International Girls manager Priya Thakarar has announced her squad of 18 for next week’s home international tournament in Wales.

The squad shows three of last year’s squad who played in Scotland with Aisling Dyer enjoying her third season between the posts. Yvonne Cahill and Becky Walsh are the other two who return from last season..

Ireland has won the tournament twice since its inception in 2002. The Irish won the opening event in Ballymena and also won in 2005 when the event returned to the North.

Scotland are the only other nation to have won the title and they will defend the title in the knowledge that a new trophy, donated by the Scottish Schools FA is on offer.

The trophy is named after Bob Doherty who has served Scottish Schools and the international schools football board SAFB with distinction for many years.

Northern Ireland are late withdrawals from the event which kicks off on Wednesday when Wales meet Scotland. Ireland will face Scotland on Thursday morning while the home side provide the opposition on Friday.

The Irish Squad is

1. Aisling Dyer Skerries C.C. Leinster
2. Bronagh Kearns Mercy Sligo Connacht
3. Olivia Smart Mount Sackville Leinster
4. Becky Walsh St Paul's Oughterard Connacht
5. Jessica Gleeson St Angela's Waterford Munster
6. Yvonne Cahill Christ The King Cork Munster
7. Maria Harrington Sacred Heart Westport Connacht
8. Ciara Grant Loreto Letterkenny Ulster
9. Naomi Carroll St Patrick's C.S. Munster
10. Deirdre Duke Alexandra College Leinster
11. Kiera Hegarty Moville C.S. Ulster
12. Michelle O'Reilly Castleknock C.S. Leinster
13. Niamh Carney Loreto Dalkey Leinster
14. Laura Chambers St Mary's Baldoyle Leinster
15. Rebecca Kearney St Angela's Cork Munster
16. Sarah Whelan Presentation Galway Connacht
17. Rosanna Maguire Manor House, Raheny Leinster
18. Maria Delahunty St Augustine's Munster

Management Team..
Manager: Priya Thakarar
Assistant Manager: Michael Gallagher
Coach: Joe Stafford
Physio: Aisling Toolin

Wednesday April 11
Scotland V Wales
11am, Brymbo Stadium, Wrexham

Thursday April 12
Ireland V Scotland
11am, Gresford Athletic Stadium, Wrexham

Friday April 13
Ireland V Wales
10.30am, Queensway Stadium, Wrexham