Irish schoolgirls U15 squad travel to Belgium to play the hosts twice

Irish schoolgirls U15 squad travel to Belgium to play the hosts twice
Date: Thursday, 17 May 2007 Section: Schools
The remaining finalists in the Start First Year Schools Cups will be known later today when the last two semi finals will be played at Portlaoise.

In the girls’ game, St Flannan’s College of Ennis will take on Leinster champions Eureka Kells in what promises to be a thrilling affair.

St Flannan’s overcame St Caimin’s of Shannon in the Munster decider while Eureka, who have a excellent pedigree in girls’ soccer defeated Loreto Balbriggan.

The winners will face St Mary’s College Ballina in the final which is scheduled for Tuesday May 22nd.

The boys semi final is also likely to be a close call with Oatlands College taking on the Munster Champions and reigning National Champions, De La Salle College Waterford.

De La Salle brushed aside the challenge of Douglas CS in the Munster final and with the prospect of a hat-trick of victories in this competition, they will start as favourites.

Summerhill College Sligo await the winners in the final which is also scheduled for May 22nd.

Meanwhile the FAI Schools International Under 15 girls squad will depart Dublin today (Thursday) for two matches against Belgium.

In the first ever meeting between the two countries at this level, the opening game will be played in Leuven on Friday evening at 6pm with the second match on Sunday also in Leuven.

Manager Priya Thakarar has made four changes to the squad that won the Celtic Nations tournament in Wales last month.

In come Dora Gorman, Maria McMahon, Deana McDonald and Rachel Newell in place of Michelle O Reilly, Niamh Kearney, Sarah Whelan and Maria Delahunty respectively.

The full squad is

1. Aisling Dyer, Skerries C.C., Leinster
2. Bronagh Kearns, Mercy Sligo, Connacht
3. Olivia Smart, Mount Sackville, Leinster
4. Becky Walsh, St Paul's Oughterard, Connacht
5. Jessica Gleeson, St Angela's Waterford, Munster
6. Yvonne Cahill, Christ The King Cork, Munster
7. Maria Harrington, Sacred Heart Westport, Connacht
8. Ciara Grant, Loreto Letterkenny, Ulster
9. Naomi Carroll, St Patrick's C.S., Munster
10. Deirdre Duke, Alexandra College, Leinster
11. Kiera Hegarty, Moville C.S., Ulster
12. Rachel Newell, Our Lady’s Terenure, Leinster
13. Deana McDonald, Dominican College, Leinster
14. Laura Chambers, St Mary's Baldoyle, Leinster
15. Rebecca Kearney, St Angela's Cork, Munster
16 Maria McMahon Rice, College Ennis, Munster
17. Rosanna Maguire, Manor House Raheny, Leinster
18. Dora Gorman, Taylor’s Hill Galway, Connacht


Thursday 17 May
Star Irish First Year Boys Cup Semi Final
De La Salle V Oatlands College
Portlaoise, 12.30pm

Start Irish First Year Girls Cup Semi Final
St Flannan’s Ennis V Eureka Kells
Portlaoise, 2pm

Fri 18 May 2007
Belgium V Republic of Ireland
Leuven, 6pm

Sunday 20 May 2007
Belgium v Republic of Ireland
Leuven, 3.30pm