Cup Glory for Glenamaddy Community School



Cup Glory for Glenamaddy

Bank of Ireland FAI Schools Junior ‘B’ Boys National Cup Final


Wednesday, March 21, 2018


PCC Falcarragh 0-2 Glenamaddy Community School

Liam Tevnan (52), Conor Raftery (65)


GLENAMADDY COMMUNITY SCHOOL captured the Bank of Ireland FAI Schools Junior ‘B’ Boys National Cup following an exquisite brace in the second half to claim victory over a classy PCC Falcarragh in Ray MacSharry Park this afternoon (March 21)


The Galway side last won a National title back in 2004 when they claimed the John Murphy Senior ‘B’ Cup for the first time at U18 level. The 2018 season saw the emergence of a new Junior ‘B’ division so Glenamaddy will be the first ever name etched on the silverware following their stunning performance in the Sligo venue earlier today.


James Francis outfit were compact in possession and dominated much of the opening period. It took the talented Oisin Cannon to deny Conor Raftery twice. The first attempt was palmed off the upright while the other was punched away to safety inside the first quarter.


Liam Tevnan played in Morgan Neary on the left flank for the youngster to hit the side netting just before the interval as the deadlock remained at the break.


The game sprung to life 12 minutes into the restart when Glenamaddy’s play maker Liam Tevnan rocketed the ball into the roof of Cannon’s net to open their account.


Brian McDermott should have made it two nil moments later as he found himself one on one with goalkeeper Cannon, but he dragged his effort wide of the target.


The Galway men doubled their lead soon after the hour mark as an Odhrán Geraghty free kick on the half way line was drilled high into the danger area for Conor Raftery to rise highest to nod home.


Falcarragh had no response to the Galway tally and will now refocus their attention onto the John Murphy Senior ‘B’ Cup campaign which will see them set up a meeting with Thomastown outfit Grennan College on April 3. The winners will face off against St. Brendan’s College, Belmullet in this season’s Cup Final showdown.


Ulster’s surprise package, Falcarragh will also line out in the Minor ‘B’ Cup decider, their third squad to feature this season at National level. Coláiste Mhuire, Askeaton will entertain Coola Post Primary School in the semi-final pairing tomorrow in Ennis. The victor will then proceed to the Cup Final with Falcarragh which is set for April 10 so a busy few weeks ahead for the Donegal school, who last won a National crown in 2005!


Glenamaddy will relish their Cup success this season which has seen them come through some really tough battles. And it was double celebrations for the Galway stars as the Player of the Match was announced.    


POTM | Sligo Rover’s goalkeeper Micheál Schlingermann selected Glenamaddy talisman’s Liam Tevnan as the Bank of Ireland Player of the Match following his stunning performance for this School this afternoon. A very creative player on the ball, Tevnan opened the scoring for the Cup Champions while his overall contribution was immense. 


PCC FALCARRAGH | Oisin Cannon, Keenan Gallagher, Shaun Curran, Patrick Moffitt, Kyle McMullan, Eddie McHugh (Seán Geaney, 44), Carlos O’Reilly, Anthony Browne (Captain), Ciaran Coll (Calvin Murray, 70), Conan Brennan, Darragh Breen (Nathan O’Brien, 70)

SUBS NOT USED | Eanna McCafferty, Luke McCarry, Shaun Ferry, Caoilte Doohan, Seán McFadden, Cormac Coyle Conor Coyle

TEACHER | Packie Doohan


GLENAMADDY COMMUNITY SCHOOL | John Duignan, Adrian Divilly, Luke Divilly, Odhrán Geraghty, Joe Kelly, Ryan Duffy, Conor Raftery, Liam Tevnan, Brian McDermott, Mark Fox (Captain) (Cian Carton, 80), Morgan Neary (Evan Duffy, 78)

SUBS NOT USED | PJ Shanks, Joshua Gemmell, Alex Higgins, Paul Daly Garcia, Rory McDermott, Gerard Smith

TEACHER | James Francis ASSISTANTS | David Lennon & Michael Heavey


REFEREE | Owen McLoughlin (Sligo)