St. Joseph's Foxford see off Carrigtwohill in penalty shoot-out

Foxford advance on penalties

FAI Schools First Year ‘B’ Girls National Cup Semi Final (Under 14, Small Schools)


Wednesday, September 13, 2023


St. Joseph’s SS, Foxford 0-0 Carrigtwohill Community College (AET) Foxford won 5-4 on pens


ST. JOSEPH’S SECONDARY SCHOOL came through a tense penalty shoot-out following a scoreless draw in extra time to see off Cork outfit Carrigtwohill Community College in Frank Healy Park, Ennis this afternoon (Wednesday, September 13).

Foxford netminder Erin Dootson managed to save a penalty and also convert one in a dramatic sudden death showdown with a reluctant Caoimhe Noone coming forward to unleash the sixth and winning spot kick. Ryan Merchant’s crew finally managing to overcome their talented opponents 5-4 to advance to the National Cup Final. 

It was far from ideal conditions and chances were limited in an entertaining encounter as Carrigtwohill’s Amelia Sheehan, Kinga Prajsnar and Aisling Kennedy impressed.

Kennedy, Carroll and Bernard were linking up well for the Munster starlets but the St. Joseph’s defence held the line to clear any danger in the early exchanges with Dootson, Breslin and Killeen performing heroics.

The best chance of the game came midway through the second half. Shauna Breslin had a fabulous strike on target but Carrigtwohill’s Lily Burke Curley pulled off a marvellous save to deny the Foxford Captain.

Carrigtwohill also had a chance for the match winner late on, but Dootson saved comfortably from a Sheehan effort on the edge of the box.

Both keepers were impressive throughout as neither side could break the deadlock. Foxford just narrowly coming through in the end. They will relish another exciting outing as they await the winners of the other semi final which sees Crana College, Buncrana pipped against Gaelcholáiste Cheartharlach in Cootehill Harps FC, Cavan tomorrow (1.0).

The National Cup Final is down for decision on Wednesday, September 27 (1.0).   



ST. JOSEPH’S SECONDARY SCHOOL, FOXFORD | Erin Dootson, Emily McHugh, Aoife Kenny, Deidi Killeen, Abbie O’Brien, Caoimhe Noone, Sarah Gallagher, Amy McHugh, Aoibhe McConneloghue, Shauna Breslin ©, Ciara Connick

SUBS ROLL ON / OFF | Katie Ruddy, Laoise Doherty, Tiffany Moyles, Clodagh Lawless, Lily Rowland

TEACHER | Ryan Merchant


CARRIGTWOHILL COMMUNITY COLLEGE | Lily Burke Curley, Katelyn O’Leary, Isabella Doherty, Isabelle Snow, Aoibhinn Ní hAodha, Megan Walker, Aisling Kennedy, Maedhbh Carroll, Amelia Sheehan ©, Emily Bernard, Kinga Prajsnar

SUBS ROLL ON / OFF | Laura Waters, Lexi Brady, Wiktoria Jojko


TEACHER | DaithÍ Purcell



MATCH OFFICIAL | Pa Gleeson (Clare)