Dublin Futsal Finals will take place next week



Dublin Post Primary Schools Futsal Finals take place next week

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Following the completion of ten regional qualifiers in the First Year futsal programme, the schools have now been whittled down to the top ten in the County.

It promises to be an exciting and fun filled conclusion to this year’s opening rounds with the boys division divided into two groups of five with the top team in each group playing off in the grand finale.


Group I will comprise of St. John’s College, Ballyfermot, Larkin Community College, New Cross College, Finglas, Coláiste Éanna and Synge Street CBS.


Group II will see Coláiste Cois Life, Coolmine Community School, Malahide Community School, Woodbrook College and Ballinteer Community School all do battle.


Last season’s winners Clonkeen College, Blackrock are out of contention so it will be all to play for as proceedings get underway in the impressive surrounds of the National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown on Wednesday, November 8 with a 10.30am kick off scheduled.


The girl’s qualifiers will take place a day later, on Thursday, November 9 at the same venue which will see a similar two divisions in operation.


Group I will consist of Kylemore College, Mount Carmel Secondary School, St. Mary’s Holy Faith Convent, Glasnevin, Stratford College, Rathgar and one other to be confirmed on November 7 from the Inner City/Dublin 7 region.


Group II will have Lucan Community College, Blakestown Community School, St. Mary’s Secondary School, Baldoyle, Loreto Abbey, Dalkey and Ballinteer Community School all paired.


Ballyfermot’s Caritas College claimed the title twelve months previously but it will be a new school that will take home the crown this time out!


Ballinteer Community School are the only school qualified in both the boys and girls section which is a wonderful achievement for the School. Teacher Chris Doyle will have his hands full with outings on both Wednesday and Thursday and no doubt will be hoping for double success for his First Year students.


Anticipation is mounting for the 240 players that will compete over the two days. One qualifier from each of the boys and girls event will be lucky enough to qualify for the Leinster Futsal Finals which are scheduled for Tuesday, November 21 (Girls) and Wednesday, November 22 (Boys) in the National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown.


We wish all participating teams the very best of luck.




Blanchardstown Qualifiers

Boys | Coolmine Community School

Girls | Blakestown Community School


North East Inner City | Dublin 7 Lower Qualifiers

Boys | Larkin Community College

Girls | Mount Carmel Secondary School


Inchicore | Ballyfermot Qualifiers

Boys | St. John’s College

Girls | Kylemore College


Dublin South Inner City | Crumlin Qualifiers

Boys | Synge Street CBS

Girls | Qualifiers on November 7


Clondalkin | Lucan Qualifiers

Boys | Coláiste Cois Life

Girls | Lucan Community College


Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Qualifiers #1

Boys | Ballinteer Community School

Girls | Ballinteer Community School


Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Qualifiers #2

Boys | Woodbrook College

Girls | Loreto Abbey, Dalkey


Finglas| Ballymun | Darndale | Kilbarrack Qualifiers

Boys | New Cross College, Finglas

Girls | St. Mary’s Holy Faith SS, Glasnevin


Tallaght | Templeogue | Rathfarnham Qualifiers

Boys | Coláiste Eanna

Girls | Stratford College


Fingal | Malahide | Portmarnock | Swords Qualifiers

Boys | Malahide Community School

Girls | St. Mary’s SS, Baldoyle





Provincial Finals:


Ulster                                    November 14                      AURA Leisure Centre, Letterkenny

Connacht                             November 15                      IT Sligo

Munster                              November 23                     Waterford IT Sports Arena

Leinster                                November 21                      National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown (Girls)

Leinster                                November 22                     National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown (Boys)


National Final:                   December 5                        Waterford IT Sports Arena