Exciting Leinster Futsal Finals



Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip & St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda snatch Futsal titles


Thursday, November 22, 2018


COLÁISTE CHIARÁIN, LEIXLIP, KILDARE (Girls) & ST. MARY’S DIOCESAN SCHOOL, DROGHEDA, LOUTH (Boys) secured the silverware at the FAI Post Primary School First Year Leinster Futsal Finals in the National Indoor Arena this week.


Four schools were bidding for double Cup success as they had their girls and boys teams involved in this week’s action with Carlow, Kildare, Dublin and Westmeath qualifiers all primed for success.


Those qualifiers included Presentation College, Askea, Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip, St. Mac Dara’s Community College, Templeogue and St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Rochfortbridge.


The girls were in action yesterday (Wednesday, November 21) with the boys event taking part this afternoon (Thursday, November 22).


Two groups of six were participating and the top team in each group would qualify for the final.


Group one comprised of Loreto SS, Kilkenny, Presentation SS, Wexford, Beaufort College, Meath, Presentation College, Carlow, Woodlands Academy, Bray and Scoil Ní Mhurí, Dunleer.


The other grouping consisted of Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip, St. Mac Dara’s SS, Templeogue, Tullamore College, St. Joseph’s SS, Rochfortbridge, Moyne CS and Scoil Chriost Rí, Portlaoise.


Loreto SS, Kilkenny topped the bill on 13 points with four wins and a draw while their title contenders Presentation SS, Wexford finished on 10 points in their group. The Kilkenny side notched up 21 goals in the five games with only four conceded. A stunning display from the youngsters.


In the other section, it was Leixlip side Coláiste Chiaráin who came through by the narrowest of margins with 13 points built up while runners up in the group, St. Mac Dara’s CC had 12 points generated. The talented Templeogue side had missed out in their outing with the Leixlip girls losing 1-0 midway through their day. A vital win for the Kildare side that saw them progress into the final against Kilkenny’s Loreto SS.


Coláiste Chiaráin were clinical in the final showcase as Ella Malone dispatched two while Sophie Kelly Buggy converted to make it 3-0 at the interval. The Kilkenny side just couldn’t break down the Leixlip defence as the starlets drove on to provincial glory.


In the boys division, it was also two groups of six with the top team in each group, going head to head in the final.


Group one had Coláiste Bhríde, Carnew, Coláiste na Mí, Johnstown, Presentation College, Carlow, Wexford CBS, Grennan College, Thomastown and St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda all involved.


While in the mix in the other section were St. Mac Dara’s CC, Templeogue, St. Joseph’s SS, Rochfortbridge, Coláiste Choilm, Tullamore, Mercy SS, Ballymahon, Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip and Heywood CS all looking to impress. 


The young guns from Drogheda maintained their 100% record in their qualifying campaign with 15 goals converted in their five outings only conceding three times throughout the day. A dangerous side to face when progressing into the final stages. Runners up in their group on 10 points were Coláiste Bhríde, Carnew who had three wins, 1 draw and 1 defeat.


While in the other division, it was Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip and St. Mac Dara’s Community College level on twelve points apiece.


St. Mac Dara’s dropped points to their Kildare counterparts while Coláiste Chiaráin lost out to Tullamore’s Coláiste Choilm in the final game of the series to leave a tense time for the top two teams. 


With Coláiste Chiaráin winning their head to head, 4-1 against the Templeogue side, it was the Kildare School who advanced in an exceptionally talented group.


The final was another top class showing with goals from Luke Kehir and Matthew O’Hara while St. Mary’s DS came from behind to equalise late on to bring the game to a penalty shoot-out. The Drogheda goals were courtesy of Lorcan Lynch and a brilliant set piece from Altay Guneyer.


St. Mary’s Diocesan School held their nerve in the shoot-out with the Louth lads converting all five while Coláiste Chiaráin narrowly missed out, leaving it 5-4.


The Leixlip School were hoping for a double with the girls winning yesterday but unfortunately it wasn’t to be.


The Hobbs / Brett combo will look forward to their return to the top flight having guided their first year squad to the same tournament venue in 2016 when they came fourth in the National decider. The Louth side will relish the opportunity to performance on the big stage and challenge themselves against the best in the Country.


ST. MARY’S DIOCESAN SCHOOL, DROGHEDA | Oisin Brennan, Jamie Hoey, Ryan McBrearty, Jake Hough, Maithiu Brien, Altay Guneyer, Lorcan Lynch, Andrew Noone Garland, Dylan Kelly

TEACHERS | Barry Hobbs & Gavin Brett


CÓLAISTE CHIARÁIN, LEIXLIP | Alex Kearney, Jonathan Kehir, Gideon Onyejkwe, Abel Adam, Hamish McNaughton, Seán Mackey, Luke Kehir, Matthew O’Hara, Charlie Owens, Ben Flanagan, Richard Lavrov

TEACHER | Colm Hyde


Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip and St. Mary’s DS, Drogheda will progress to the National Finals which will take place in Waterford IT Sports Arena on December 4.





Girls | Loreto Secondary School, Kilkenny

Boys | Grennan College, Thomastown



Girls | Presentation Secondary School, Wexford

Boys | Wexford CBS



Girls | Beaufort College, Navan

Boys | Coláiste na Mí, Johnstown



Girls | Presentation College, Askea

Boys | Presentation College, Askea



Girls | Woodlands Academy, Bray

Boys | Coláiste Bhríde, Carnew



Girls | Scoil Ní Mhuirí, Dunleer

Boys | St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda



Girls | Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip

Boys | Coláiste Chiaráin, Leixlip



Girls | St. Mac Dara’s Community College, Templeogue

Boys | St. Mac Dara’s Community College, Templeogue



Girls | Tullamore College

Boys | Coláiste Choilm, Tullamore




Girls | St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Rochfortbridge

Boys | St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Rochfortbridge



Girls | Moyne Community School

Boys | Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon



Girls | Scoil Chriost Rí, Portlaoise

Boys | Heywood Community School, Ballinakill




Provincial Finals:


Ulster                                    November 13                      AURA Leisure Centre, Letterkenny

Connacht                             November 14                      IT Sligo

Munster                              November 20                     Waterford IT Sports Arena

Leinster                                November 21                      National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown (Girls)

Leinster                                November 22                     National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown (Boys)


National Final:                   December 4                       Waterford IT Sports Arena