St. Mac Dara’s CC snatch double in the FAI Post Primary Schools Dublin Futsal Finals

THE TEMPLEOGUE scholars won the girls competition yesterday while the boys made it a super double this afternoon when they overcame a confident Coláiste Chilliain, Chluain Dolcáinin the final at the National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown.  

Similar to the girls showcase less than 24 hours previously, it was a solitary goal that did the damage in the final. And who popped up to secure the winner, only Aaron McDONNELL. Ironically, his sister Ruth scored the winner yesterday for their School while sister Ciara was the shot stopper on the day so a great occasion for the McDonnell household with all three playing a starring role over the last two days!


With the late withdrawal of Larkin Community College from today’s proceedings, it was nine teams lined out with one group of four and another of five that made the cut from the regional qualifiers.


Portmarnock Community School, Oatlands College, Blackrock, Trinity Comprehensive School, Ballymun and St. Mac Dara’s Community College, Templeogue were all competing for top spot.


As were Woodbrook College, Coláiste Chilliain, Chluain Dolcáin, Kylemore College, Ballyfermot, Riversdale Community College and Synge Street CBS Secondary School in the other grouping.


The Clondalkin students made light work of their group games with four wins from four to secure top spot while Kylemore College were also impressive in this division.


Pól O’Sluaghain’s side notched up 12 goals, only conceding three in the four outings. They secured a 3-1 victory over Ballyfermot side Kylemore College while they enjoyed a 4-1 win over Woodbrook College in the next game. Their penultimate fixture saw them defeat Riversdale Community College 4-1 and they finished their campaign with a narrow 1-0 win over Synge Street. Thomas O’Muireagan was their talisman with a supreme performance that saw him round four players to convert some super goals throughout the day. Indeed mentor O’Sluaghain expressed his delight at his side’s success with a team effort ensuring them a place in the final showcase.


Mac Dara’s squad were under the watchful eye of mentor Conor Canavan for today’s action but could be follow in Jason Carey & Lauren Tynan’s footsteps by leading them to the title?


Trinity Comprehensive School, Ballymun were first up in this group and Templeogue showed their desire by slotting four past them to take the game 4-1 with Eoin Mougan and Callum McElligott both getting a brace. The Templeogue side struggled against an inform Portmarnock side but Cian McManus snatched a one nil win for his side to keep their title ambitions alive. The third game of the series saw them slot two past Oatlands College with Mougan again on form making it three wins from three.


The build up to the final game of the day was closely watched as the top two teams did battle. Coláiste Chilliain had plenty of possession and looked comfortable on the ball but they just couldn’t break down the Templeogue defence. As predicted, the game was decided by a splendid goal courtesy of their star man Aaron McDonnell.


An historic occasion for the School, picking up both the Boys & Girls Dublin Futsal titles with a phenomenal work rate from all the players involved against some much fancied opposition. They will be one to watch out for in the Leinster series.


Conor, Jason & Lauren will look forward to preparing their respective squads for the provincial deciders now which are scheduled for Wednesday, November 21 (Girls) and Thursday, November 22 (Boys) in the National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown.


Coláiste Chilliain, Chluain Dolcáin | Tadhg O’Cathain, Antaine O’Gallachoir, Euan O’Baoill, Tomas O’Muireagain, Seán O’Conghaile, Daithi Mac Ghallaoigh, Callum Houle, Aaron O’Laocha, Danny O’Floinn, Reece O’Murchu, Eoin O’Broin

Teacher | Pól O’Sluaghain


St. Mac Dara’s Community College, Templeogue | Senan Duffy, Aaron McDonnell, Eoin Mougan, Callum McElligott, Ciaran Norton, Tadgh Fagan, Cian McManus, Luca McCarthy, Liam Brady, Sam Carey.

Teacher | Conor Canavan




Provincial Finals:


Ulster                                    November 13                     AURA Leisure Centre, Letterkenny

Connacht                             November 14                      IT Sligo

Munster                               November 20                     Waterford IT Sports Arena

Leinster                                November 21                      National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown (Girls)

Leinster                                November 22                     National Indoor Arena, Abbotstown (Boys)


National Final:                    December 4                        Waterford IT Sports Arena